Active on the local and state level, the Coalition provides a range of programs that combine to create a systemic approach to quality child care and education. Children’s Coalition Early Head Start offers a model program for children ages 0-3. Child Care Connections, a Child Care Resource and Referral Agency, delivers teacher training, coaching and technical assistance and parent referrals to quality child care. The Coalition also works with state agencies and advocacy groups to create community networks that share resources, align programs and services and provide a “no wrong door” approach for families looking for early care and education. 


 

CURRENT PROGRAMS

Children's Coalition Early Head Start

Five centers in Ouachita Parish offer a comprehensive child development program for low-income families and their children ages 0-3.

EARLY HEAD START

 

Child Care Connections

The Child Care Resource and Referral agency for the northeast region of Louisiana directs parents to quality child care, provides training for teachers and technical assistance for child care centers and family child care homes.

ChILD CARE CONNECTIONS

 

Early Childhood Community Networks

The Early Childhood Network is a collaborative effort to lead the reforms called for by the Louisiana Early Childhood Education Act (Act 3 of the 2012 legislative session). The Children's Coalition serves as the Lead Agency for three early childhood networks. This includes many partner programs in the region, including every pre-kindergarten program in a public school, every private school participating in the Nonpublic School Early Childhood Development (NSECD), every Head Start program, and Early Head Start program, child care centers that accept Child Care Assistance, and the Early Steps program.

COMMUNITY NETWORKS

 

Mental Health Consultation for Child Care

Working with Tulane University and Quality Start, mental health consultation is offered to all Class A licensed child care centers in this region. Research shows that child care centers that have incorporated mental health consultants into their programs have found a decrease in staff turnover rates, a decrease in reports of staff stress and feelings of burnout, and an increase in job satisfaction. Contact Patti McGilton at PMcGilton@childrenscoalition.org for more information.

MENTAL HEALTH CONSULTATION

 

Louisiana Shared Resources 

The Louisiana Alliance for Shared Resources (LAASR) is dedicated to assisting early care and education programs in lowering costs, improving financial stability and increasing quality. Contact Amy Clancy, LAASR Manager, at AClancy@childrenscoalition.org for more information.

LOUISIANA SHARED RESOURCES

 

STAFF

Earnestine Dunn
Ancillary Teaching Certificate Director 
edunn@childrenscoalition.org

Amy Clancy
Child Care Connections/ Lead Agency
aclancy@childrenscoalition.org

Julie Emory 
ECCS Program Director
jemory@childrenscoalition.org

Jennifer Calhoun 
Child Care Connections/ Lead Agency
jcalhoun@childrenscoalition.org

Erika Breshears
EHS Mentor Coach
ebreshears@childrenscoalition.org

Cynthia Cage
Child Care Specialist
ccage@childrenscoaltion.org

Aven Ford
Child Care Specialist
aford@childrenscoalition.org

Chasidee Baker
Child Care Specialist
cbaker@childrenscoalition.org

Jasmine Brisco
Child Care Specialist
jbrisco@childrenscoalition.org